Dickson, Cleopas Win Bayelsa Senate Seats

Ex-Governor Dickson, Cleopas Win Bayelsa Senate Seats
Seriake Dickson

Former Bayelsa State Governor, Seriake Dickson has been declared the Senator-elect for Bayelsa-West Senatorial district after he won Saturday’s bye-election in the state.

Declaring the result for the election, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) disclosed that the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) polled a total of 115, 257 votes in Ekeremor LGA and 68,156 in Sagbama, while the APC scored 17,541 votes and 7,303 votes, respectively.

Also Read: INEC Declares Zamfara Bye-Election Inconclusive, Two Ad-Hoc Staff Missing

Similarly, the INEC returning officer for Bayelsa Central, Dr. Emmanuel Akpan, declared the candidate of the PDP, Moses Cleopas, a winner for the bye-election in the district.

The PDP polled 20,922 votes in Kolokuma/Opokuma LGA; 54,390 in Yenagoa LGA and 44, 707 votes in Southern Ijaw LGA, while the APC scored 4,980 votes; 6,155; and 7,812 votes, respectively.

Recall that the Bayelsa Central and West senatorial districts were vacated by Governor Douye Diri and his deputy, Lawrence Ewhrudjakpo respectively.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here