6 ministers with governorship aspirations set to quit GEJ’s cabinet


Ahead of the February 2015 general elections, 6 serving ministers including Sen. Bala Muhammed (Min. for Federal Capital Territory), Mr. Labaran Maku (Min. of Information), Chief Emeka Wogu (Min. of Labour), Mr. Nyesom Wike ( Min. of State, Education), Dr. Samuel Ortom (Min. of State, Trade, Industry and Investment) and Senator Musiliu Obanikoro ( Min. of State, Defence) are expected to tender their resignations in October to enable them pursue their Governorship aspirations in their various states. 


While Mr Wike is bidding to take over from Rivers state Governor Chibuike Amaechi, Sen. Bala Mohammed is said to be gunning for the government house in Bauchi state. Sen. Obanikoro is to contest for Governor of Lagos state while Dr Ortom is to contest for Governor in Benue state. Mr Labaran Maku is gunning for the Nassarawa state governor’s seat while Mr Wogu is said to be eyeing the Abia state governor’s seat.
A source at the Presidency who confirmed the Ministers impending resignation said;

“Their resignation will come very soon. You know the President will have to fill the vacancies that will be created before the general elections in February 2015. You also know that the Senate must approve nominees. It is therefore important that the list be forwarded to the senators before everybody will be engrossed in election matters in their various constituencies,” the source said.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here