13 Bills To Amend 1999 Constitution Referred To Constitution Review C’ttee

SenateThe Senate on Tuesday began moves to amend the 1999 Constitution with 13 bills seeking the review of various section of the constitution.
The Senate President, Dr. Bukola Saraki, who presided over plenary, referred all the bills to the Constitution Review committee chaired by the Deputy Senate President, Ike Ekweremadu.
Eleven of the 13 bills are on second reading while the remaining two are on first reading.
The bills were sponsored by senators across party divide with the senator representing Osun East, Babajide Omoworare, leading the pack with three amendment bills.
He is closely followed by the duo of Senator Rose Oko (PDP, Cross River North) and Senator Philip Aduda (PDP, FCT), with two bills each.
The remaining six bills seeking to amend the 1999 constitution were each sponsored by Senator Theodore Orji (PDP, Abia Central), Senator Abdullahi Adamu (APC, Nasarawa West), Senator Stella Oduah (PDP, Anambra North), Senator Bala Ibn Na’Allah (APC, Kebbi South), Senator Olusola Adeyeye (APC, Osun Central) and Senator Gbolahan Dada (APC, Ogun West).
Senate President Saraki gave the Constitution review committee four weeks to report back to the Senate.
“All the bills on the Constitution review are hereby referred to the Committee on Constitution review for further legislative actions”, he said.