Frank Edoho Dropped as Host as ‘Who Wants to be a Millionaire’ Returns (See Details)

Popular Nigerian television game show, “Who wants to be a Millionaire”, which went off air two months ago, is expected to begin airing again across major TV stations on Sunday.

According to a report by Premium Times, following a partnership with Airopay, which is a global international payments operator, the show’s producer, Ultima Studios Limited, said the show has been revamped.

While speaking to correpondents, Femi Ayeni, the Managing Director of Ultima Studios, said the show’s anchor, Frank Edoho, will likely be dropped.

He said; “The presenter may not be returning as a host this time around but he remains a part of the team. We will also encourage him to partake in the auditions which will see us have a befitting replacement if need be.

“We will be getting a younger presenter but Frank remains a part of WWTBM. We will air highlights from captivating past editions of the show for about 5 weeks until we get a new anchor for the show,” said Ayeni.

At a joint press conference in Lagos on Thursday, Ayeni announced Airopay as the new sponsors of the show.

Speaking at the occasion, Ayeni said, “Airopay and Ultima are convinced that the synergy between Airopay and Who Wants To Be A Millionaire’s game show will be mutually beneficial.

“With this new sponsorship, Airopay is proud to say that the Who Wants To Be A Millionaire TV game show is much bigger, richer and better, as Airopay has increased the winnings sums of contestants who make it to the Who Wants To Be a Millionaire game show’s hot seat and participants who engage in the Who Wants To Be A Millionaire Homeplay.”

Also addressing the media at the event, the CEO of Airopay, Charles Oyakhilome, confirmed that his firm has indeed increased the winning sums for contestants from N10m to N15m.

The show, which has produced a lot of millionaires began showing every week on national TV stations in 2014.

Some of the past winners include Osazuwa Osahon Daniels – N5 million (2009), Aroma Ufodike Chimuanya – N10 million (2009), Babatunde Oni Oladipo – N5 million (2010), Nnaemeka Ubaekwena – N5 million (2012).