Benue Assembly Suspends Four Members For Three Months

The 10th Benue State House of Assembly on Monday, suspended four of ite lawmakers for a period of three months over alleged interference and causing disruptions in the smooth functioning of legislative affairs.

The suspended members include Honourable Solomon Gyila, representing Gwer West State Constituency; Honorable Douglass Akya, member representing Makurdi South; Rt Honorable Dyako Ashwa, Member representing Konshisha State Constituency and Honorable Anthony Agom of Okpokwu State Constituency.

The motion for their suspension was moved by the Majority Leader of the House, Honourable Saater Tiseer.

The motion was seconded by Honourable Peter Ipusu of Katsina-Alaa West State Constituency.

READ ALSO: Yuletide: Lagos Govt To Tackle Street Trading, Vows To Ensure Free Flow Of Traffic

Meanwhile, the assembly has adjourned its session to tomorrow, December 5, 2023, to address and resume normal legislative business.

It was gathered that the suspension of the lawmakers may not be unconnected to the crisis that is rocking the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC, in the State.

The suspended members were said to belong to the G-22 group of lawmakers, most of who boycotted Monday’s sitting after earlier reporting for the day’s plenary.

The Speaker said the lawmakers were “suspended for three months for constituting a clog in the way of the smooth running of the legislative business of the House.”