All Is Set For Abuja To Host International Science Olympiad.

International Science Olympiad.
International Science Olympiad.

The Nigerian Turkish Nile University (NTNU) in collaboration with the Federal Ministry of Health and the National Mathematics Center (NMC) is set to host the fourth annual International Science Olympiad (ISO) slated for May 27th- 31st in Abuja.

The forum is one of the two regional Olympiads in Africa with students from no less than 21 participating countries from around the world competing to be picked as one of the top young international science students of the competition.

According to the organisers, only secondary school students of nineteen years of age (or below), curious in Science and willing to pursue a career in the sciences are eligible for the competition.

The event, they said, is an excellent way of tapping into the potentials of young students who need encouragement in the sciences and a time to recognize outstanding achievements of these students, in the sciences.

Vice Chancellor of the NTNU Professor Huseyin Sert, in a press statement yesterday (Sunday) said the intent of the Olympiad is to encourage students to get themselves more involved in the sciences.

“We are particular about Africa. There are various Olympiads organised around the world but little chance is given to Africa. Africa as a whole has only two regional Olympiads. Over the years the numbers of participants have grown and we hope that in the future African countries will be given more prominence in the various Olympiads around the world.”

He added that among the factors responsible for the decline in the numbers of students registering in science subjects in higher institutions and the mass failures in sciences in exams is notably, the lack of motivation and encouragement in sciences.

Participant, expected from about 21 countries across the world will be tested on wide science knowledge, concepts, science processes, thinking skills and science application and technology.

Countries expected include: Turkey, Mali, Burkina Faso, Tanzania, Uganda, Turkmenistan, Azerbaijan, Ghana, Kenya, Liberia, Afghanistan, Malawi, Togo, Senegal and South Africa.