Akande, Former PDP Strongmen, Named APC Interim Officers

apc-The opposition All Progressives Congress (APC), has named Chief Bisi Akande, as its National Chairman. Also named as Deputy National Chairman, North, was former Speaker of the House of Representatives, Alhaji Aminu Masari.

The decision was reached after a closed door meeting in Abuja, late on Monday.

This was confirmed by the Congress for Progressive Change, Mr. Rotimi Fahakin in Abuja, on Tuesday night.

He said the appointment which was “part of the requirements (set by INEC) for the registration of the new party was a collective decision of all the merging parties.”

Fashakin said, “The current National Secretary of the All Nigeria Peoples Party, Tijani Tumsa emeged the interim national secretary.

“(Former Speaker of the House of Representatives) Aminu Masari is the Deputy National Chairman North.

“Chief Tom Ikimi is the National Vice Chairman South-South. Chief Niyi Adebayo is for the South-West.”

Others are General Abdullahi Aboki, Vice Chairman North Central and Senator Annie Okwonkwo, Vice Chairman South East.

Alhaji Lai Mohammed was retained as Publicity Secretary while former Federal Capital Territory (FCT) minister, Malam Nasir El-Rufai was named Deputy National Secretary.