Confab: Jonathan Raises 13-Member Advisory C’ttee

jonathan-portrait1President Goodluck Jonathan has revealed the names of other members of the advisory committee he set up yesterday to come up with modalities of convening a national dialogue/conference to resolve what he called issues that currently cause friction in the polity.

The president had in his nationwide address to mark the 53rd Independence Anniversary on Tuesday said, “When there are issues that constantly stoke tension and bring about friction, it makes perfect sense for the interested parties to come together to discuss.”

The 13-member committee, with Dr. Femi Okurounmu as chairman and Dr. Akilu Indabawa as Secretary, has a period of one month within which to complete its assignment.

Other members of the committee are Prof George Obiozo, Prof. Ben Nwabueze, Senator Khairat Gwadabe, Senator Timothy Aduda, retired Col. Tony Nyiam, Prof. Funke Adebayo, Mrs Mairo Ahmed Amshi, Dr. Abubakar Sadiq, Alhaji Dauda Birma, Malam Buhari Bello and Mr Tony Uranta.

A statement last night by Secretary to the Government of the Federation Anyim Pius Anyim, said the president will inaugurate the panel next week Monday.

The committee’s terms of reference include the consultation of stakeholders with a view to drawing up agenda for the conference, as well as recommend its structure, modalities, representation, timeframe and legal framework.

Also, the committee is to advise government on the legal procedures for adopting the conference’s decisions and outcomes into the constitution and other laws.