Yobo to Make Eagles Return as Keshi Releases 23-Man Party for Mexico

Joseph Yobo has earned a recall to the Super Eagles squad as coach Stephen Keshi invites 23 players for the March 5 friendly against Mexico in Atlanta, Georgia, USA.

The on loan Norwich City centre-back, who has not featured for the national team since the 2013 African Cup of Nations in South Africa, is in line to reassert his presence in the Eagles’ defence following his return to England with league strugglers, Norwich.

Ezekiel Imoh, Michael Uchebo and Ramon Azeez are the three uncapped players in line to debut for the African champions.

CHAN 2014 revelations Ejike Uzoenyi, Shehu Abdullahi and Azubuike Egwuekwe are also in contention.

Technical director Emmanuel Ikpeme told reporters after the technical committee meeting on Wednesday in Abuja that Keshi’s call-up list has been approved.

Joesph Yobo Earns Eagles Recall.
Joesph Yobo Earns Eagles Recall.
Meanwhile, Keshi says now is the right time for 33-year-old defender, Yobo, to make a return to the national team.

Keshi told MTNFootball.com: “I had told you before that Yobo was a part of this team. That when the time is right, he would make a return. Now Yobo is ready and he is making his comeback.

“There are several players I invited also whom I have not seen since last year. There a need to see them again and know how ready they are and see if the fresh ones can fit in to our plans for the World Cup.”

The squad:

Goalkeepers: Vincent Enyeama (Lille FC, France), Austin Ejide (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)

Defenders: Elderson Echiejile (Monaco FC, France), Efe Ambrose (Celtic FC, Scotland), Godfrey Oboabona (Rizespor, Turkey), Azubuike Egwuekwe (Warri Wolves), Kenneth Omeruo (Middlesbrough FC, England), Juwon Oshaniwa (Ashdod FC, Israel), Joseph Yobo (Norwich City, England), Kunle Odunlami (Sunshine Stars)

Midfielders: Mikel Obi (Chelsea FC, England), Ogenyi Onazi (SS Lazio, Italy), Ramon Azeez (Almeria FC, Spain), Shehu Abdullahi (Kano Pillars), Ejike Uzoenyi (Enugu Rangers)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia), Shola Ameobi (Newcastle United, England), Victor Moses (Liverpool FC, England), Emmanuel Emenike (Fenerbahce FC. Turkey), Obinna Nsofor (Chievo Verona, Italy), Bright Dike (Toronto FC, Canada), Imoh Ezekiel (Standard Liege, Belgium); Michel Uchebo (Cercle Brugge, Belgium)