Voter Apathy As APC Wins Katsina Central Federal Constituency Bye-election

APCThe Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Sunday declared Sani Danlami of the All Progressives Congress (APC), winner of the bye-election into Katsina Central Federal Constituency.
The election was conducted on Saturday
INEC Returning Officer, Prof. Shehu Muhammad, said Danlami won the election by polling 21,480 votes to defeat his closest rival Muntari Kabir of the Peoples Democratic Party, who polled 5,890 votes while the candidate of the National Conscience Party came a distant third with 179 votes.
According to Muhammad, the total number of registered voters in the constituency was 208,384, while 33,428 voters were accredited to vote.
He put the number of valid of votes cast during the poll as 27,554, while 756 votes were declared invalid.
The Returning Officer, while commending the electorate for their display of maturity during and after the election, said that only 16 per cent of the total registered voters cast their votes during the bye-election.
The Katsina Federal Constituency seat became vacant following the death of Hon. Shiek Umar on June 3, 2015. He was of the APC.