Lopsided Appointments: Northern Group Slams Buhari’s Critics, Says Jonathan Also Appointed Southerners


A group, Concerned Elders of the North (CEN) has reacted to the accusation of lopsided appointments by President Muhammadu Buhari, made by some aggrieved people from the South. In view of this, the group has released a list of some appointments made by the Goodluck Jonathan government.

It claimed that what Buhari has done is that he has merely chosen people he knows well as his personal staff “which is to be expected of any serious President”.

The list of the appointments by the Jonathan administration, sent to Sunday Vanguard by the group, at the weekend, is made up of people from the South.

The first group of 13 appointees (a minister, the SGF and heads of parastatals) were from the South-East while most of those in the second group of 37 were mostly from the South-East and the South-South.

The Jonathan govt appointments:

A: The South-East List

Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala – Coordinating Minister of The Economy And Minister Of Finance
Bright Okogwu – DG Budget
Emeka Eze – DG BPP
Arunma Oteh – DG SEC
Oscar Onyema – DG NSE
Chike Obi – MD AMCON
Chinelu Onuoha – DG Pencom
Godwin Emefiele – CBN Governor
Uche Orji – MD Sovereign Wealth Fund
Sunny Iroha – DG Housing Fund
Evelyn Oputa – MD Bank of Industry
Nnenna Orji – Chairman, Investments, Securities Tribunal
Anyim Pius Anyim – SGF

B: South-East and South-South List
Dr. Anthony Anuforom – NIMET
Engr. Andrew Yakubu – NNPC
Patrick Apobolokemi – NIMASA
Mrs. Chinebo Anohu Amazu – PENCOM
Engr. Chukwu Amuchi – FERMA
Mr. George Osahon – DPR
Mrs. Evelyn Oputu – Bank Of Industry
Ernest Nwanpa – Nigerian Content Dev. Agency
Mrs. Dupe Atoki – Consumer Protection Agency
Engr. Eugene Juwah – NCC
Engr. Nnamdi Udoh – NAMA
Engr. Akikuotu – NCAA
George Uriesi – FAAN
Capt. Chinere Kalu – NCATY
Dr. Paul Orhii – NAFDAC
Dr. (Mrs) G.N. Elemo – FIIRO
Oron Joshua Okpo – Maritime Academy Of Nigeria
Engr. Seyi Sijuwade – Railway Corporation
Mrs. Sally Mbanefoh – Nigerian Tourism Dev. Corporation
Dr. Bright Okogwu – Budget Office Of The Federation
Prof. Godswill Obioma – NERDC
Mr. R.R. Orya – NEXIM
Dr. Joseph Odumodu – Standards Organisation Of Nigeria
Emeka Nkem Mba – Nigerian Broadcasting Corporation
Prof. Longmas Wapmuk – Industrial Training Fund
Prof. Julius Okojie – National Universities Commission
Mrs. N.S. Benebo – NESREA
Dr. Precious Gbenjo – MDG Office
Peter Chigozie – Surveyor General Of The Federation
Dr. Yemi Kale – Statistician General Of The Federation
Mr. Jonah Otunla – Accountant General Of The Federation
Samuel Yonongo Ukara – Auditor General Of The Federation
Mike Omieri – National Orientation Agency
Oluremi Oyo – News Agency Of Nigeria (Oluremi Oyo Was Replaced By Ima Niboro From The South South)
David I. Adelugba – NEPCE/S
Mr. Olugbenga Kuye – NEPZA
Peter Godsday Orubebe – Niger Delta Ministry, Etc.

The appointments made by Buhari include his ADC, the State Chief of Protocol, the National Security Adviser, the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF) and the DG, SSS.