Ministerial Nominees: Nothing Exciting About Buhari’s List, Says Odumakin, Sen. Urhoghide

Ministerial-listThe National Publicity Secretary of the apex Yoruba Socio-political group, Afenifere, Yinka Odumakin, yesterday berated President Muhammadu Buhari for waiting four months before submitting the names of ministerial nominees to the Senate.
According to Odumakin, the president could have unveiled the ministerial list at the Eagle Square on May 29 if the names being speculated as having made the list, are anything to go by.

The Afenifere spokesman said the four months wait was a waste as there were no exciting or surprising names on the list.

He said: “There is no excitement or surprise in the list. They are mostly run of the mill people that do not warrant waiting four months to have. Those names could have been submitted at Eagles square on May 29”.
A similar view was expressed by the Peoples Democratic Party Senator representing Edo South, Senator Matthew Urhoghide.
He said it was not necessary for President Buhari to have waited this long before coming up with the list he reportedly made available.
According to Senator Urhoghide, the persons whose names were submitted, have been around and known to the president, especially the nominee from Edo State, Osagie Ehanire.
Urhoghide, however, said that while the character and personality of the nominees were not in doubt, what was important was performance as ministers.
Senate President Bukola Saraki had Wednesday confirmed receiving the first batch of 21 ministerial nominees to make President Buhari’s cabinet.
The nominees being speculated in the media include Chris Ngige, Rotimi Amaechi, Ogbonnaya Onu, Udoma Udo Udoma, Rotimi Amaechi, Kayode Fayemi, Babatunde Fashola, Abdurrahman Dambazau, Aisha Al-hassan, Kemi Adeosun, Abubakar Malami SAN and Sirika Hadi.

Others are Barrister Adebayo Shittu, Sulaiman Adamu, Solomon Dalong, Ibe Kachikwu, Osagie Ehanire, Ahmed Isa Ibeto, Ibrahim Jibril, Audu Ogbeh, Amina Mohammed.