INEC Declares PDP’S Mao Ohuabunwa Winner Of Abia-North Senatorial Rerun

Mao OhuabunwaThe Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has declared Senator Mao Ohuabunwa of the People’s Democratic Party, PDP, winner of the Abia North senatorial district election re-run in Abia State.
Ohuabunwa, who was favorite to retain the seat he won in the March 28, 2015 general elections but was sacked by the Appeal Court sitting in Owerri, secured majority votes in four out of the five local government areas that make up the senatorial district.
He defeated former governor of the state and candidate of the Progressives Peoples Alliance, PPA, Orji Uzor Kalu; Dr. David Onuoha-Bourdex of the All Progressives Grand Alliance, APGA, and Nnenna Nma Lancaster-Okoro of the All Progressives Congress.
A breakdown of the results show that Mr. Ohuabunwa polled 26,009 while Kalu and Onuoha-Bourdex, polled 25,814 votes and 13,633 votes respectively.
Mrs. Lancaster-Okoro polled a paltry 976 votes.