Gov. Ambode Swears-In 5 New Permanent Secretaries

Akinwunmi Ambode

On Wednesday, Governor of Lagos State, Akinwunmi Ambode, swore in 5 new Permanent Secretaries into the State Civil Service.

Ambode, while charging the appointees said, “Given the top management positions which you have occupied in your different MDAs prior to this appointment, I have no doubt that you are sufficiently familiar with the vision and policy direction of this administration. You, therefore, have a responsibility to add value to governance with innovative ideas that will deepen the impact of government policies and programmes on the people.

“I urge you not to rest on your oars. You must see this appointment as a challenge and a privilege for you to join the political leadership of your various agencies and other members of the distinguished Body of Permanent Secretaries to deliver to our people a Lagos that provides leadership with commitment to accountability, probity, and transparency; geographical expansion where opportunities will be limitless under a secured environment”.

He also said, “We have left no one in doubt about our strong belief in the capacity of the Public Servants of our State as the engine for the actualization of our vision and dream to transform our State to become Africa’s model megacity and preferred destination for investment and tourism. These appointments like others that we have done since we came into office, were not just meant to fill vacant positions, but rather a process, well thought out to match vision with human capital.

“As I rejoice with the new Permanent Secretaries on their appointment, I look forward to feeling the impact your elevation will have on the delivery of quality public service to our people.”

The new Permanent Secretaries are Mrs. Florence Ebunoluwa Oluwasuji who is now the Permanent Secretary/Tutor General, Education District V; Dr. Shamsideen Olalekan Allison, Permanent Secretary, Lagos State Primary Health Care Board (PHCB); Engr. Saliu Abidemi Adeyemi who takes over as the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of the Environment; Mr. Senayon Adeola Hundeyin, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Home Affairs and Mrs. Yetunde Adefolahan Odejayi, Permanent Secretary, Deputy Governor’s Office.

The swearing-in ceremony was held at the Exco Chambers, Lagos House, Ikeja.

It was attended by retired Permanent Secretaries, members of the State Executive Council, friends, family, and well-wishers of the newly appointed Permanent Secretaries.

SEE ALSO: Ambode Tops Performing Governors List