Southern PDP Officially Zones National Chairmanship Position To S/West

PDP-Headquarters sealedLeaders of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, in the South-south and South-east geo-political zones of the country have formally ceded the national chairmanship position of the party to the South-west zone.

This was the highlight of their meeting in Port Harcourt, the Rivers State capital on Thursday night ahead of the August 17 national convention of the party.

Since the inception of the PDP in 1999, the South-west is the only geo-political zone that has never produced national chairman of the party; either in acting or substantive capacity.

The meeting, which held in an atmosphere of cordiality and was attended by Governors, National Assembly Members and ex-Ministers, the South-south and South-east PDP leaders also zoned the positions of National Treasurer and Deputy National Publicity Secretary to the South-west.

It was not an all-South-west affair as the South-south got the nod to produce the PDP first deputy national chairman, national legal adviser, deputy national women leader and deputy national auditor.

The South-east got the national organising secretary, national youth leader and deputy national financial secretary.

Addressing journalists at the end of the meeting, Deputy Senate President Ike Ekweremadu, said despite the zoning of the positions, any party member willing to vie for any position, is free to do so.

He, however, advised party members from the Southern part of the country to respect the zoning formula.