FG inaugurates Alex Ekwueme burial committee

Must Read

See The Numbers To Call If You Suspect Cases Of Coronavirus Around You

According to a report obtained from The Nation, the Lagos Speaker Mudashiru Obasa has urged residents of the state to...

LAUTECH Inducts 52 As Medical Doctors

According to reports, the Ladoke Akintola University of Technology (LAUTECH), Ogbomoso has inducted 52 graduates as medical doctors.The event...

Coronavirus: 28 Persons Identified, Quarantined In Ogun After Contact With Italian Patient

Not more than 28 persons have been reportedly been identified and kept in isolation in Ogun State for the...

Repentant Terrorists To Enjoy Foreign Education – Senate Bill

According to reports, Senator Ibrahim Gaidam proposed Boko Haram rehabilitation bill will make the Universal Basic Education Commission (UBEC)...

Europa League Round Of 16: See Full Draw

The draw for the Europa league has been made at an award ceremony on Friday following the conclusion of...

An 11-member committee was inaugurated by the Federal Government to organise a state burial for the late former Vice- President, Dr. Alex Ekwueme, who died on November 19 in London.

Inaugurating the committee in Abuja, the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha, urged the committee members to ensure that the late Ekwueme gets a befitting state burial.

Mustapha, who is also the chairman of the committee, said that it was open to new ideas, stressing however that the work plan to be used was in tandem with previous state burial committees.

He described late Ekwueme, 85, as an “all rounder” who earned different levels of degrees in various fields; ranging from Architecture to Sociology, History, Philosophy and Law.

The SGFsaid that the Nigeria Police would effectively play some of the roles that the Nigerian Navy had played in such ceremony previously.

Mustapha pledged that the committee would work assiduously to ensure Ekwueme got a befitting state burial.

He said the late Ekwueme rendered valuable services and was a strong voice to ensuring unity and stability of Nigeria.

Other members of the committee are Dr. Roy Ugo, secretary of the committee, the Minister of Power, Works and Housing, Mr. Babatunde Fashola, Minister of Information and Culture, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, Minister of Finance, Mrs. Kemi Adeosun, and the Minister of Labour and Employment, Dr. Chris Ngige.

Others are Governor Willie Obiano of Anambra State, Mr. Ibrahim Idris, Director General, Department of State Services, Mallam Lawal Daura, Pastor Goodheart Obi Ekwueme and Prof.Osita Chukwulobelu.

Source: ( Punch Newspaper )

- Advertisement -
Ad ==> Discover how a young Nigerian graduate now makes a consistent 40k per week doing a legitimate online business. You too can start yours now, click here!!!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -