Anambra Guber Polls: INEC Releases List Of 23 Candidates •Ukachukwu Replaces Nwoye, Uba As PDP Flag Bearer

anambra_state-mapThe Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, yesterday, unveiled the names of 23 candidates for the November 16, 2013, Anambra governorship elections without the names of Senator Andy Uba and Tony Nwoye, both of the Peoples’ Democratic Party, PDP.

The list, seen by Information Nigeria, contains the names of only four female deputy governorship candidates while the rest are men.

INEC also warned candidates, whose names were not published against canvassing for votes as doing so amounts to an electoral offence.

In a statement by Mr. Kayode Idowu, chief press secretary to INEC Chairman, Professor Attahiru Jega, the commission said: “In line with the provisions of Section 31 (3) of the Electoral Act 2010, as amended, the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has today, September 24, 2013, published the Form CF001 (Personal Particulars of Candidate) of candidates nominated by political parties for the November 16th governorship election in Anambra State.

”A total of 23 political parties nominated candidates for the governorship and deputy governorship slots. Two political parties, namely the All Progressives Grand Alliance, APGA, and the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, had issues with the candidates they intend to sponsor before the closure of nominations on September 17, 2013. But the Federal High Court in Awka eased the contention over APGA’s nomination by vacating its order directing the Commission to accept two governorship candidates from the party.”

In the case of PDP, the commission explained that Mr. Nicholas Chukwuejekwu Ukachukwu was recognized as the candidate of the party in obedience to a recent court judgment in his favour.

The statement added, “The Commission hereby advises political parties and their members that only those on the list published by it are allowed to conduct electioneering campaigns. Any violation of this rule amounts to an electoral offence and security agencies are urged to intervene as

The candidates cleared and listed to run for the elections are:

Okeke Chika Jerry (AA)
Chukwuemeka Nwankwo (ACCORD)
Dr Ifeatu Ekelem (ACD)
Engr Anthony Anene (ACPN)
Comrade Aaron Igweze (AD)
Chief Anayo Arinze (ADC)
Patrick Chukwuka Ibeziako (APA)
Senator Chris Ngige (APC)
Chief Willie Obiano (APGA)
Chief Austin Nwangwu (CPP)
Chijioke Geofrey Ndubuisi (DPP)
Christian Ikechukwu Otti (ID)
Chief Dennis Nwaforka Oguge (KOWA)
Patrick Ifeanyi Ubah (LP)
Pastor Simon Okafor (MPPP)
Okoknkwo Webster (NCP)
Prince Leonard Uchendu (NNPP)
Nicholas Ukachukwu (PDP)
Godwin Ezeemo (PPA)
Hon Basil Ijedinma (PPN)
Onuarah Onyeachonam (SDP)
Barr Okoye Godson (UDP)
Prince Akaneebu Ogochukwu (UPP).