Seven Commissoners Sacked In Bayelsa

Gov. seriake_dicksonGovernor Seriake Dickson of Bayelsa State on Thursday effected a major cabinet reshuffle as he sacked seven commissioners.

Among those shown the exit door are the Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice, Francis Egele; Trade and Investment, Mr. Ayakeme Massa and Health, Dr. Anapurere Michael Awoli.

Others affected in the shocking cabinet shake-up are commissioners for Tourism Development, Mr. Nelson Belief; Special Duties (Federal Projects), Mr. Gesiye Isowo; Science, Technology and Manpower Development, Mr. Parkinson Macmanuel and Environment, Dr. Sylvanus Abila.

A statement signed by the governor’s Chief Press Secretary, Mr. Daniel Iworiso-Markson, said the action was informed by “the ongoing re-organisation of Government Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs) for a more optimal implementation of the Restoration Agenda”.

Dickson asked the affected officials to immediately vacate their offices and hand over to the permanent secretaries in their various ministries.

While expressing his gratitude to them for their commitment to “service, diligence, hard work and invaluable contributions to the successes attained by his administration in the last two years”, the governor wished them well in all their future endeavours, saying he could call on them again to serve the state in other capacities.

Dickson said: “The reorganization of the machinery of government for improved service delivery in the execution of Government programmes and policies as well as the redeployment of relevant officers will be a continuous exercise”.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *