The Netherlands Name World Cup Squad

Manchester United striker Robin van Persie leads a list of five Premier League players named in the Netherlands’ final World Cup squad.

The striker- likely to captain the Oranje in Brazil, is joined by Swansea duo Michel Vorm and Jonathan de Guzman, defender Ron Vlaar of Aston Villa, Norwich midfielder Leroy Fer and Newcastle goalkeeper Tim Krul.

Injured midfielder Raphael van der Vaart is the most notable absentee from Van Gaal’s 23-man party for Brazil.

Louis van Gaal Unveils His Final 23-Man Squad for World Cup.
Louis van Gaal Unveils His Final 23-Man Squad for World Cup.

The 31-year-old Hamburg playmaker suffered a calf injury in training on Wednesday.

Feyenoord pair Tonny Vilhena and Jean-Paul Boetius, Manchester City’s Karim Rekik, PSV’s Jeroen Zoet, Chelsea’s Patrick van Aanholt and Twente’s Quincy Promes, along with Van der Vaart, are the seven players who all missed out.

Bayern Munich’s Arjen Robben, Fenerbahce’s Dirk Kuyt and Wesley Schneider of Galatasaray are among the other high-profile players selected by the manager, who takes over English club Manchester United after the World Cup.

The Netherlands open their campaign against defending champions Spain before facing Australia and Chile.

Goalkeepers: Jasper Cillessen (Ajax), Tim Krul (Newcastle), Michel Vorm (Swansea)

Defenders: Daley Blind, Joel Veltman (both Ajax), Stefan de Vrij, Daryl Janmaat, Terence Kongolo, Bruno Martins Indi, (all Feyenoord), Paul Verhaegh (FC Augsburg), Ron Vlaar (Aston Villa).

Midfielders: Jordy Clasie (Feyenoord), Jonathan de Guzman (Swansea), Nigel de Jong (AC Milan), Leroy Fer (Norwich), Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich), Wesley Sneijder (Galatasaray), Georginio Wijnaldum (PSV Eindhoven).

Forwards: Memphis Depay (PSV Eindhoven), Klaas-Jan Huntelaar (Schalke 04), Dirk Kuyt (Fenerbahce), Jeremain Lens (Dynamo Kiev), Robin van Persie (Manchester United).