Mbu, 18 Others Promoted To Rank Of AIG

Joseph MbuThe Police Service Commission has approved the promotion of controversial Commissioner of Police in charge of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Mr. Joseph Mbu and 18 other Commissioners of Police to the rank of Assistant Inspectors-General of Police.

The newly promoted officers are – Ambrose O. Aisibor, Adebayo Ajileye, Umaru Abubakar Manko, Joel Kayode Theophilus, Wilfred Eje Obute, Felix Osita Uyanna, A. J. Abakasanga and Jubril Olawale Adeniji.

Others are – Ibrahim M. Maishanu, Godfrey E. Okeke, Chintua Amajor-Onu, Lawal Tanko, Usman Akila Gwarry, Kalafite Helen Adeyemi, Yahaya Garba Ardo, Irimiya F. Yerima, Olufemi A. Adenaike and Patrick Dey Dokumor.

A statement issued on Wednesday by the Assistant Director, Press and Public Relations of the PSC, Mr. Ferdinand Ekpe, said the promotions became necessary to fill the voids created by the recent retirements/promotions in the Force.

Ekpe added that the exercise was also aimed at re-invigorating and repositioning the various zonal and other commands headed by the AIGs, to help combat the current security challenges.

All the promotions take immediate effect from 20th August, 2014.