Gov. Okowa Sends List Of 12 Commissioner-Nominees To State Assembly

Ifeanyi-OkowaGov. Ifeanyi Okowa of Delta State on Tuesday forwarded 12 Commissioner-nominees to the State House of Assembly for consideration.

The Speaker of the state House of Assembly, Monday Igbuya, read out the names during the House’s sitting in Asaba.

The nominees are Mary Iyasere, John Nani, Kingsley Emu, James Augoye, Vincent Uduaghan, Newworld Safugha, Areh Ogeh, Fidelis Tilije and Omatsola Williams.

Others are Austin Chikezie, Joyce Overah and Chiedu Ebie.

The speaker directed the nominees to submit 35 duplicate copies of their credentials to the office of the Clerk of the state House of Assembly on or before June 25.

Mr. Igbuya also directed the nominees to appear before the state House of Assembly on June 30 for screening.

The State House of Assembly on Tuesday also elected its principal officers as nominated by the state chapter of the Peoples Democratic Party.

The nominees are Tim Owhefere, (Isoko North) as the Majority Leader, Patience Ajudua as the Chief Whip, Oboro Preyor as Deputy Majority Leader, Michael Diden as Deputy Chief Whip, and Reuben Izeze as Majority Whip.

Okoh Chukwuyen of the Accord Party (AP) was also elected as the Minority Leader following the recommendation by his party.