Mimiko Elected Chairman Of PDP Governors’ Forum

Olusegun MimikoOndo State Governor, Mr. Olusegun Mimiko, has emerged chairman the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Governors’ forum.

He was elected at a meeting attended by eight out of the 13 PDP governors in Maitama, Abuja, on Wednesday.

The five governors who were absent at the meeting were Governors Hassan Dankwambo (Gombe State), Ayodele Fayose (Ekiti State), Nyesom Wike (Rivers), Ifeanyi Okowa (Delta) Ben Ayade (Cross River State).

Those in attendance were the elected chairman himself, Capt. Idris Wada (Kogi), Dr. Okezie Ikpeazu (Abia), Hon. Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi (Enugu), Dave Umahi (Ebonyi), Udom Emmanuel (Akwa Ibom) and Darius Ishaku (Taraba).

Governor Seriake Dickson of Bayelsa State was represented at the meeting by his deputy, Rear Admiral John Jonah (retd.).

Addressing journalists at the end of the meeting, Gov. Ikpeazu, who spoke on behalf of others, said “the forum of PDP governors unanimously elected Governor Olusegun Mimiko of Ondo State as the chairman of the PDP Governors’ Forum”.

He, however, did not disclose if the remaining five governors sent in their apologies for missing the meeting or why they were not represented.

Gov. Mimiko said the PDP will engage the Presidency and the All Progressives Congress (APC) constructively to ensure that the principles and tenets of democracy are strictly adhered to.

The Ondo governor, who was deputy to the former chairman of the forum, Godswill Akpabio, the immediate past governor of Akwa Ibom State, was favourite for the position.