Lower League Clubs Eliminate Heartland & Dolphins in Federation Cup

Heartland FC, Abia Warriors and Dophins are the latest top-flight casualties in Nigeria’s Federation Cup, following defeats in fourth round of this year’s competition on Wednesday.

The Nazee Millionaires could not contain debutantes BJ Foundation in an end-to-end encounter, despite claiming initiative after a half-hour of action at the Aper Aku stadium, Makurdi.

John Ibeh’s opener and Ebere Oduchie’s consolation could not prevent a 3-2 loss for Heartland against BJ Foundation, who had accounted for Kurmi Market, Sportlight FC en route to the round of 16.

Awaiting the Edo State side in the quarter-finals are another Nigeria Professional Football League side, Lobi Stars, who saw off Remo Stars of Oshogbo 3-5 on penalties (match ended a goal apiece in regulation time) also on Wednesday.

Another Glo Premier League side Dolphins were eliminated by Tornadoes Feeders 4-3 on penalties, after ending the match 1-1 in 90 minutes.

Heartland's Bright Ejike Has Scored 11 Goals in the Nigeria Top Flight So Far This Season. Image: LMC.
Heartland’s Bright Ejike Has Scored 11 Goals in the Nigeria Top Flight So Far This Season. Image: LMC.

Plateau United, conquerors of Shooting Stars of Ibadan and Kano Pillars in earlier rounds, failed to reawaken their mojo this time as El-Kanemi Warriors ended their journey in Minna. Akwa United outwitted Prime FC in Oleh, by the a 1-0 scoreline.

Nasarawa United defeated fellow Premier League side Abia Warriors 2-1 in Oshogbo, as FC IfeanyiUbah knocked out FC Taraba 4-2 at the Area 3 Playground in Abuja.

IfeanyiUbah will face Nasarawa United in the last-8. Akwa United will battle Niger Tornadoes Feeders, as El-Kanemi Warriors await winners of Thursday’s clash between Kwara United and Enugu Rangers in Abuja.

The quarter-final matches are slated for August 12-13.

Federation Cup last-16 Results

FC IfeanyiUbah 4 FC Taraba 2

Heartland FC 2 BJ Foundation 3

Prime FC 0 Akwa United 1

Tornadoes Feeders 1 Dolphins FC 1 (

Remo Stars 1 Lobi Stars 1 (3-5 penalties)

Nasarawa United 2 Abia Warriors 1

Plateau United 0 El-Kanemi Warriors 1


Kwara United Vs Enugu Rangers (Abuja) – 4pm