Buhari Ends Tenure Policy In Federal Civil Service

Winifred Oyo-Ita

As part of measures to ensure stability in the nation’s civil service, President Muhammadu Buhari on Monday ordered the suspension of the tenure policy in the federal civil service with immediate effect.

The policy, introduced by a former Head of the Civil Service of the Federation, Steve Oronsaye, under the late President Umaru Yar’Adua administration, prescribed two terms of four years each for permanent secretaries of ministries, while directors were entitled to an eight-year tenure.
However, a directive to suspend the policy was contained in a circular to all Ministries Departments and Agencies (MDAs) by the HOCSOF, Winifred Oyo-Ita.
A statement by the Director Communication, Office of the HOCSOF, Haruna R. Imrana, said all MDAs should give effect to the new directive.
The statement said: “The Circular which conveyed the President’s directive on the suspension said the suspension is with immediate effect and all concerned are to comply accordingly”.
According to the statement, with this circular, the eight-year tenure policy for directors, which was introduced some years back, has now been suspended.

It said the implication was that civil servants could now stay in service until they are 35 years in service or they turn 60.