Army/Shi’ites Clash: El-Rufa’i Sets Up 9-Man White Paper C’ttee

Nasir El-Rufai and Justice Mohammed Lawal GarbaGovernor Nasir El-Rufa’i of Kaduna State has set up a nine-man committee to produce a white paper on the report of the Judicial Commission of Inquiry into the Army/Shi’ites clash in the state.

The clash in Zaria last December, resulted in the killing of hundreds of Shi’ite members by soldiers, who claimed to have acted in self-defense and protection of the Chief of Army Staff, Lt.-Gen. Tukur Buratai, whose convoy allegedly came under threat from the sect.

In a statement issued by his media aide, Mr Samuel Aruwan, in Kaduna on Wednesday, El-Rufa’i said that the committee would commence work immediately and submit the draft white paper within two weeks.

SEE: Army/Shi’ite Clash: ‘Army Not Indicted In Commission’s Report’

The committee is headed by Adamu Mansur, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education.


The governor also mandated the committee to make any other recommendation that would assist government in addressing issues raised in the report.

The committee members were the permanent secretaries of the Ministries of Environment and Natural Resources, Works, Housing and Transport, Local Government, Cabinet Affairs and Special Services.

The other members were the permanent secretaries Ministry of Justice, Civil Service Commission, and Mr M. Aliyu of the Ministry of Justice, as well as Mr Alexander Sule of the Office of the Secretary to the State Government.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here