Makarfi Constitutes 82-Member Zoning C’ttee For PDP Convention

Ahmed-MakarfiThe Senator Ahmed Makarfi-led national caretaker committee of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has announced the setting up of a 82-man zoning committee to zone the party’s offices ahead of the August 17, 2016 rescheduled national convention in Port-Harcourt, Rivers State.

‎It would be recalled that Makarfi was appointed chairman of the caretaker committee during the party’s earlier botched convention on May 21, 2016, in Port Harcourt‎, to run the party for three months within which to organise a national convention for the election of new party leaders.

‎A statement issued Tuesday in Abuja by Senator Abdul Ahmed Ningi; member of the committee in charge of Organization and Mobilization‎, said the zoning committee has Governors Dave Umahi of Ebonyi State and ‎Ibrahim Dankwambo of Gombe State as chairman and deputy chairman respectively.

It also said a former governor of Benue State, Gabriel Suswam, is secretary of the zoning committee.

SEE: PDP Crisis: Sheriff Demands Makarfi’s Resignation As Condition For Truce

The committee, which is to be inaugurated this Friday, in Abuja, has former governors of Kano State Mallam Ibrahim Shekarau, Dr Babangida Aliyu (Niger), Liyel Imoke (Cross River), Idris Wada (Kogi), Peter Obi (Anambra), Ramalan Yero (Kaduna), Otunba Gbenga Daniel (Ogun), Boni Haruna (Adamawa) and Ibrahim Shema (Katsina) as members.

‎Other prominent members of the committee are ‎a former deputy Senate president, Ibrahim Mantu; a former deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives, Chief Emeka Ihedioha; a former Minister of the FCT, Bala Mohammed; a former Minister of Interior, Abba Moro; Senators Enyinnaya Abaribe, Grace Bent, Effiong Bob, Lee Maeba‎, Danjuma Lar, Joshua Lidani, Philip Aduda and Amb. Umar Damaguma among many others.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here