Police Arrests 15 Suspected Cultists In Osun



The Special Anti-Robbery Squad (SARS) team of the Osun State Police Command has arrested 15 members of a cult group that has been fomenting trouble in Ede, Osun State.

Confirming the arrests, the State Police Spokesperson, SP Folasade Odoro, said the cultists were arrested when they were planning to strike their target as he added that dangerous weapons and charms were recovered from them.

The Police Public Relations Officer gave the names of the suspects as: Waheed Ahmed, Ganiyu Sodiq, Olorunkemi Tanko, Hassan Toheeb, Rilwan Adebayo, Ahmed Oladdosu, Abdulkareem Olalekan, Kamoru Sefiu, Saliu Saheed, Ayoola Yusuf, Ahmed Lawa, Adebayo ABiola, Taiwo Adebisi, Ganiyu Taiwo and Aliyu Saheed.

The items recovered from them include cutlasses, one axe knives, clubs, nails, axe, hammer, broken bottles and some charms.

Police arraigned the suspects before an Osogbo Chief Magistrates Court immediately

The Prosecutor, Inspector Joshua Oladosu told the court that the accused committed offences that contravened sections 1(1) and 2(1)(a) (b) Cap. 11 Vol. 14, Laws of Federation of Nigeria, 2004.

The accused persons pleaded not guilty.

Counsel to the accused persons, Mr Bola Ige and Mrs Bose Adeyinka, prayed the Magistrate to grant the bail in the most liberal terms.

Magistrate Olusola Aluko refused to grant the bail and remanded the accused persons at the Ile-Ife prison.

The case was adjourned to January 27, 2017.