Vice President Osinbajo Presides Over First 2022 NEC Meeting


The Vice President of Nigeria, Yemi Osinbajo is presiding over the first 2022 National Economic Council (NEC) meeting at the statehouse in Abuja.

NEC is composed of Governors of the 36 States of the Federation and Minister of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT); Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN); Ministers and Heads of some federal agencies and departments.

Those in attendance include Governors Hope Uzodinma (Imo); Yahaya Bello (Kogi); Kayode Fayemi (Ekiti); Willie Obiano (Anambra); Doye Diri (Bayelsa); Babagana Zulum (Borno); Babajide Sanwo-Olu (Lagos) and Emmanuel Udom (Akwa-Ibom).

A communique is expected to be issued at the end of the meeting after briefings by relevant government agencies on economic programmes of government.

The NEC, which meets monthly, is constitutionally empowered to advise the President on economic matters.

Details Shortly…