“I Don’t Regret Shutting Down Buhari’s Impeachment” – Omo-Agege

Ovie Omo-Agege, the Deputy Senate President has said he does not regret stopping the 8th Senate from impeaching the President, Major General Muhammadu Buhari (retd.).

Omo-Agege, who was accused of planning the invasion of the Senate chamber, is said to have arrived at the National Assembly’s grounds that day with thugs who were thought to be working for him.

While reacting to the incident on Thursday during his campaign in Asaba, the All Progressives Congress Delta State governorship candidate stated that he never regretted his action.

READ ALSO: 2023 Presidency: Don’t Underestimate Tinubu – Reno Omokri Warns

He said, “I will never regret my action to shut down the 8th Senate to stop the impeachment of President Buhari.

“Then, I was the de facto chairman of the Electoral Act, and after concluding our report, Saraki and his cohorts decided to change what we passed and sent to the House of Representatives for concurrent consideration just because they wanted to impeach President Buhari.

“So, I protested and stopped them, and the Saraki group said they had suspended me. According to my understanding of the law, they do not have the authority to suspend me.

“Our group called the parliamentary group for support of Buhari in the Senate, then made efforts to stop them, and I showed up unexpectedly and shut down the sitting to stop the impeachment of President Buhari. I’m not regretting the role I played.

On the governance of the state, Omo-Agege said, “If you make an objective assessment of every village, town, city, and local government area in Delta State, including the riverine areas, you will come to the sad conclusion that the state is lagging behind in every index of socio-economic development and economic prosperity

“Ifeanyi Okowa’s government alone has swallowed up well over N2.8trn in seven years.

“There is poverty and profound infrastructural dilapidation from Asaba to Warri and environs, Ughelli to Udu, Sapele to Effurun, Koko to Oghara, Agbor to Ukwani, Ndokwa to Abraka, and other areas of the state.”