Erling Haaland Wins PFA Player Of The Year Award

Manchester City’s Erling Haaland has won the PFA men’s Players’ Player of the Year award, with Arsenal’s Bukayo Saka named Young Player of the Year.

Norway forward Haaland, 23, scored 52 goals in all competitions in his debut season with Pep Guardiola’s side.

FULL LIST: Haaland, Saka win PFA player and young player awards

Haaland beat team-mates Kevin de Bruyne and John Stones, Arsenal’s Saka and Martin Odegaard and Tottenham’s Harry Kane, now at Bayern Munich.

Recall that City won the Premier League, FA Cup and Champions League Treble last season.

“It’s an honour to win this prestigious award,” said Haaland. “To be recognised by your competitors is a great feeling and I would like to thank everyone who voted for me.

“It was an unforgettable season for the team and for me personally. Winning the Treble was something I never imagined, so to achieve that with such a special group of players was an amazing feeling.

“We created some incredible memories last season, but now we want to do the same again this year. We have started the season well and we need to keep going.”

Haaland joined City from Borussia Dortmund in a deal worth £51.2m in June 2022.

READ MORE: Haaland Bags Brace As Man City Begin Title Defence In Style

He was also nominated for the young player prize, which was awarded to England winger Saka after he scored 14 goals and contributed 11 assists in his finest season for the Gunners.

The 21-year-old beat fellow nominees Moises Caicedo, who recently joined Chelsea from Brighton, Aston Villa midfielder Jacob Ramsey, Arsenal forward Gabriel Martinelli and Brighton striker Evan Ferguson.

Meanwhile, both winners of the individual prizes were also included in the PFA Team of the Year.

Aston Villa striker Rachel Daly won the PFA women’s Player of the Year award, while Chelsea’s Lauren James was named Young Player of the Year.

Lauren James - PFA Young Player of the Year 💙 : r/chelseafc

PFA Team of the Year: Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal), William Saliba (Arsenal), Ruben Dias (Man City), John Stones (Man City), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle), Rodri (Man City), Martin Odegaard (Arsenal), Kevin de Bruyne (Man City), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Harry Kane (Tottenham), Erling Haaland (Arsenal).

4 Gunners in PFA Premier League Team of the Year | News |