Djokovic Wins 5th Australian Open Title

Must Read

No Research Linking 5G Network With COVID-19: Minister

Following the conspiracy theory pointing that the new 5g network may be responsible for the novel coronavirus death, Nigeria's...

COVID-19: APC Calls For Understanding On Stimulus Package Distribution

Following the public outcry that has greeted the manner in which palliatives were shared in Lagos state over lockdown...

COVID-19: Wike Attacks FG For Giving Lagos N10b, While Rivers Gets Nothing

Rivers state governor, Nyesom Wike has attacked the federal government of Nigeria for releasing a whopping sum of N10b...

Coronavirus: 140 Lebanese Evacuated Out Of Nigeria

Following the coronavirus pandemic in Nigeria, the Lebanese government has evacuated one hundred and forty Lebanese nationals through the...

4-Year-Old Tiger Tests Positive For Coronavirus

A 4-year-old Malayan tiger at a Bronx Zoo in New York City has tested positive for COVID-19, in what...
Omaku Cephas
Cephas is a Content Strategist who loves to write about travels and sports. He's a proud supporter of local publishers and wants to see them get more creative with genuine content. He's keen on rekindling your passion for anything sports and travels.

Top seed Novak Djokovic overcame Andy Murray to claim his fifth Australian Open title, and become just the second man since legendary Roy Emerson to achieve that feat.

Djokovic, 27, defeated Murray in four sets for the third time in final at Melbourne Park 7-6 (7-5) 6-7 (6-4) 6-3 6-0 to improve to 5-0 against the British No. 1 since losing the 2013 Wimbledon.

The Serb has now won eight career Grand Slam titles and has completed his 50th match win at the Australian Open on Sunday as well. He also defeated the No. 6 seed in the 2011 and 2013 title matches.

Djokovic Wins Andy Murray to Lift His Fifth Australian Open Title. Image: Getty via Tennis Australia.
Djokovic Wins Andy Murray to Lift His Fifth Australian Open Title. Image: Getty via Tennis Australia.

“I’m privileged to be on the elite group of athletes who’ve won 8 Grand Slams,” Djokovic said in his interview.

It was not an ideal finish to a great tournament for Murray, who arrived for the Australian summer with an unbeaten singles runs at the Mubadala World Tennis Championship in Abu Dhabi and the Hopman Cup in Perth and appeared to have regained his confidence through each round en route to the re-enactment of one of tennis’ most friendly rivalry.

“To me the reason why I lost that match was not a physical reason because I feel fine now,” said two-time Grand Slam winner, Murray, 27. “I couldn’t have done anything more. I couldn’t have prepared better. So I can’t be disappointed.

“My job now is to try and maintain my consistency for the rest of the season.”

The Dunblane native, who also lost the same title to Roger Federer in 2010, has now finished as runner-up four times. He would have become the first player in the Open Era to lose three finals before winning the title had the things gone his way at Rod Laver Arena.

Djokovic’s first Australian Open success came in 2008 (defeating Joe-Wilfried Tsonga) and followed that with three successive triumphs between 2011 and 13.

Australia’s Emerson won his first Australian Open title in 1961 and followed with five successive wins from 1963-1967. He also won two French Open, Wimbledon and US Open apiece.

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -