Senate Confirms Ex-service Chiefs As Ambassadors

Senate Confirms Ex-service Chiefs As Ambassadors
Former service chiefs

The Senate has confirmed the appointment of the nation’s immediate former Service Chiefs as non-career ambassadors-designate.

The confirmation of the nominees followed consideration of the report of the Committee on Foreign Affairs.

The former Service Chiefs confirmed are: General Abayomi G. Olonisakin (Rtd); Lt. General Tukur Y. Buratai (Rtd); Vice Admiral Ibok-Ete E. Ibas (Rtd); and Air Marshal Sadique Baba Abubakar (Rtd).

Minority Leader, Enyinaya Abaribe, however, questioned the nomination and confirmation of the ex-service chiefs when the Senate had on three different occasions called for their sack.

Also Read: Lalong: We Wouldn’t Have Farmer-Herder Crisis If Livestock Plan Was Implemented

Senator Abaribe also questioned why the petitions against the former service chiefs were dismissed without explanations.

However, Senate President, Ahmad Lawan pointed out that the Senate resolution demanding their removal was in no way related to President Muhammadu Buhari’s request for the Senate to confirm them as Ambassadors-Designate.

Lawan stated that these are two separate roles. In his concluding statement, adding that the former service chiefs have served the country to the best of their abilities.