Nollywood Movie Awards: List Of Awardees

Nigeria witnessed for the first time in grand style, the Nollywood Movies awards, it was a celebration of pomp and pageantry as celebrities and thespians alike graced the occasion.
Held at the Civic Centre on the 2nd of June 2012, it was a sight to behold as film practitioners graced the red carpet looking breathtaking and glamorous as they posed for paparazzi.
Kate Henshaw Nuttal, Omotola Jalade Ekehinde, Julius Agwu, Stella Damasus, Denrele Edun, Charles Okafor are some of the actors that made bold fashion statements on the red carpet.
TV host/ Actor extraordinaire Joseph Benjamin clichéd the Best Actor in a leading Role Award for his role in the Nollywood blockbuster film ‘Tango with me’. Mercy Johnson bagged the same award but in the female category for her role in ‘Weeping Soul’.
Gabriel Afolyan and Nse Ikpe-Etim won the awards for the Best Actor/Actress in a Supporting Role respectively. The former for his role in the Dagrin biopic ‘Ghetto Dreamz’ and the latter for her role in ‘Kiss and Tell’
The night Unveiled the biggest winner as the movie ‘Mirror Boy’ got three nods.
These are a list of the winners at the NMA 2012.
Best Actor Leading Role- Joseph Benjamin
Best Actor In Supporting Role-Gabriel Afolayan
Best Actress Leading Role –Mercy Johnson
Best Actress In Supporting Role-Nse Ikpe-Etim
Best Actor In An Indigenous Movie-Yinka Quadri
Best Actress In An Indigenous Movie- Funke Akindele
Best Indigenous Language Movie-Aye Dudu
Best Directing- Mahmood Ali-Balogun
Best Cinematography-Mirror Boy
Best Movie Editing-Ghetto Dreamz
Best Original Screenplay/Scriptwriting-Obi Emelonye
Best Make-Up-Mirror Boy (Gabriel Okorie)
Rising Star Award- Sylvia Oluchi(Bent Arrows) & Gabriel Afolayan (Ghetto Dreamz)
Viewers Choice Award Male- Ramsey Noah
Viewers Choice Award Female- Genevieve Nnaji
Lifetime Achievement Award- Chief Kenneth Nnebuwe.
By Adaeze